Academic Faculty Senate


  • Recommend curriculum, including establishing prerequisites and placing courses into disciplines.
  • Recommend degree and certificate requirements.
  • Recommend grading policies.
  • Coordinate with the Institutional Planning and Budget Council (IPBC) the Institutional Self- Study for accreditation.
  • Represent Chabot faculty at District meetings and taskforces established to develop District policy when faculty participation is needed or requested.
  • Recommend and maintain faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes including self-study and annual reports.
  • Collaborate through the shared governance process on:
    • Educational Program development;
    • Standards and policies regarding student preparation and success;
    • District and College governance structures as related to faculty roles;
    • Policies for faculty professional development activities;
    • Process for program review;
    • Process for institutional planning and budget development; and
    • Other academic and professional matters as are mutually agreed upon between the governing board and the academic senate.
  • Examine program review documents and make recommendations.

Core Representatives 2019-2020


  • President: Miguel Colon, Applied Technology & Business
  • Vice President: Cheryl Mackey, Applied Technology & Business
  • Secretary: Aaron Deetz, Arts, Media & Communications
  • Immediate Past President: Mon Khat, Applied Technology & Business


  • Cheryl Mackey, Applied Technology & Business
  • Jim Baum, Applied Technology & Business
  • Aaron Deetz, Arts, Media, & Communications
  • Veronica Martinez, Arts, Media, & Communications
  • Brian Augsburger, Counseling
  • Laura Alarcon, Counseling
  • Connie Telles, Health, Kinesiology & Athletics
  • Kyle Robinson, Health, Kinesiology & Athletics
  • Clara McLean, Language Arts
  • Lisa Ulibarri, Language Arts
  • Norman Buchwald, Library
  • Naj Abrao, Science and Mathematics
  • Erin Kelly, Science and Mathematics
  • Kay Fischer, Social Science
  • Mona Abdoun, Social Science
  • Nancy Pinio, Part-time Faculty Representative


  • SSCC: vacant
  • CLPFA: Jeff Drouin

Meeting Dates

Meets the 2nd and 4th Thursday (unless *special meetings are called), 3:00-5:00 p.m., Board Room (bldg 200)

Next scheduled meetings: