Black Student Achievement and Success Programs

The Black Student Achievement & Success Programs (BSASP) provide support services designed to increase retention, persistence, graduation and transfer rates of African American students at Chabot College.


BSASP Programs & Organizations

Academic Program

Student Organizations

Faculty, Staff & Administrator Organization

  • Black Education Association (BEA)

 

Annual Events

  • Black to School Night
  • Black Scholars Family Night
  • Black Graduation Celebration
  • Black College Tours
  • Gladiator Fall/Spring Welcome Day
  • Black Transfer Day

 

 

Other Activities

  • Open Mic-Spoken Word
  • Movie Screenings
  • Monthly Brother to Brother Workshops
  • HBCU College Fair
  • FREE Monthly Food Pantry
  • Scholarship Workshops
  • Monthly Sister Circle Workshops

 

BEA Scholarship

The Black Education Association offers an annual scholarship to continuing Chabot students and students who are transferring to a four-year college or university. Applications are available at the beginning of the spring semester of each year.

2018 BEA Scholarship Recipients

Laurelle Price

2018 Chabot Graduate

Major: Ethnic Studies

Transferring to Mills College

Firaol Midekssa

2018 Chabot Graduate

Major: Biomedical Engineering

Transferring to University of Rochester

Amanuel Haile

2018 Chabot Graduate

Major: Computer Science

Transferring to San Jose State University

Elysse Price

Continuing Chabot Student

Major: Biology & Allied Health, Liberal Arts

 

 

Dr. Jeanne Wilson

Dean of Special Programs, BEA Vice-President

510-723-6956

jwilson@chabotcollege.edu

Dr. Stacy Thompson

Vice President of Academic Services, BEA President

510-723-6626

lthompson@chabotcollege.edu

Art Barboza

Striving Black Brothers Coalition Coordinator

510-723-7122

abarboza@chabotcollege.edu

Tommy Reed

UMOJA Counselor/Coordinator

510-723-6747

treed@chabotcollege.edu

Dr. Kamela Peart

My Sister’s Keeper Counselor/Coordinator

510-723-7682

kpeart@chabotcollege.edu

Brian Augsburger

EOPS Counselor/BSASP Coordinator

510-723-7031

baugsburger@chabotcollege.edu

Chilopie Millington

UMOJA Counseling Assistant    

510-723-2664

cmillington@chabotcollege.edu

 

@chabotblackachievement

 

Sign Up to Receive Text/Email Updates via the Remind app

 

remind.com/join/chbtbsasp

 

 

For questions, contact:
Brian Augsburger
baugsburger@chabotcollege.edu
(510) 723-7031
Building 700, Room 767M, 2nd floor