Black Student Achievement and Success Programs

 

The Black Student Achievement & Success Programs host events and initiatives to promote the academic success of students of the African diaspora. Our goal is to increase retention, persistence, graduation and transfer rates by providing culturally relevant programming, support services and activities.

 

BSASP Programs & Organizations

Academic Program

Student Organizations

Faculty, Staff & Administrator Organization

  • Black Education Association (BEA)

 

 

 

Annual BSASP Events

  • Black Family Welcome  – September
  • Black Scholars Celebration – February
  • Black High School Preview Day – February
  • AAREA/Black College Fair – April
  • Black Graduation Celebration – May

 

 

Other Activities

  • HBCU Campus Tours
  • Black College Fair
  • Black Transfer Day
  • Film Screenings
  • Open Mic Night
  • Brother 2 Brother Workshops
  • Scholarship Application Workshops
  • AND MUCH MORE!!!

 

BEA Scholarship

The Black Education Association offers an annual scholarship to continuing Chabot students and students who are transferring to a four-year college or university. Applications are available at the beginning of the spring semester of each year.

2017 BEA Scholarship Recipients

Chika Achike

2017 Chabot Graduate

Major: Psychology

Transferring to CSU East Bay

Emani Sosa

2017 Chabot Graduate

Major: Psychology

Transferring to Grambling State University

Mathew Abiola

Major: Computer Science

 

 

 

 

 

Dr. Jeanne Wilson

Dean of Special Programs  

510-723-6956

jwilson@chabotcollege.edu

Dr. Stacy Thompson

Vice President of Academic Services/BEA President

510-723-6626

lthompson@chabotcollege.edu

Art Barboza

Striving Black Brothers Coalition Coordinator

510-723-7122

abarboza@chabotcollege.edu

Tommy Reed

UMOJA Counselor/Coordinator

510-723-6747

treed@chabotcollege.edu

Dr. Kamela Peart

My Sister’s Keeper Counselor/Coordinator

510-723-7682

kpeart@chabotcollege.edu

Brian Augsburger

EOPS Counselor/BSASP Coordinator

510-723-7031

baugsburger@chabotcollege.edu

BEA Faceboookchabotblackachievement

 

  @chabotblackachievement

 

Sign Up to Receive Text/Email Updates via the Remind app

remind.com/join/chbtbsasp

 

For questions, contact:
Brian Augsburger
baugsburger@chabotcollege.edu
(510) 723-7031
Building 700, Room 767M, 2nd floor