Committee On Online Learning (COOL)

Welcome to the Committee On Online Learning (COOL) website!
The COOL is available to support faculty as they create quality online and hybrid courses for the students of Chabot College. 


The COOL  supports all of our College (faculty, staff, administration, and students) as we develop and deploy hybrid and fully online courses. We encourage and assist in the creation of new online courses, helping to ensure they can incorporate proven pedagogical techniques for student success, and that they can be delivered with the highest quality possible. And with that process, we help to reinforce how hybrid and online courses are equivalent in rigor, expectations, and student participation to their on-campus counterparts. We share our expertise in online delivery modes with all faculty, in a collaborative review process that includes demonstrations by colleagues new to the world of online teaching and learning. We evaluate, share, and advocate for new technologies that help our students learn.

A primary focus of the COOL is to meet Title 5 Section 55206 regulations, which require separate course review for distance education delivery courses. The regulations state that If any portion of the instruction in a proposed or existing course or course section is designed to be provided through distance education in lieu of face-to-face interaction between instructor and student, the course shall be separately reviewed and approved according to the district’s adopted course approval procedures.


  • Jeanine Grillo, Health & Nutrition
  • Melissa Patterson, Business



  • Simon Abramowisch, Interim Dean of Language Arts

Applied Technology & Business

  • Cheryl Mackey, Admistration of Justice
  • Melissa Patterson, Business

Arts, Media & Communication

  • Christina Davis, Communication Studies
  • Richard Dinwiddie, Humanities, Philosophy, Religious Studies
  • Ryan Scherbart, Humanities, Philosophy, Religious Studies (Break Fall 2022)
  • Adrian Huang, Arts and Media



Faculty Union


Health, Kinesiology & Athletics

  • Jeanine Grillo, Nutrition & Health

Language Arts

  • Cristina Moon, Spanish
  • Lisa Ulibarri, English
  • Caren Parrish, French
  • TJ Puckett, English
  • Blake Tolbert (Mr. T), English

Library, Academic Pathways and Student Success


Science & Math

  • Najla Abrao, Math

Early Childhood Developement

  • Ana Gutierrez

Social Sciences

  • Christina Mendoza

Instructional Technology

  • Christina Davis, Instructional Technology Coordinator
  • Wendy Poling, Instructional Technology Specialist

Special Programs and Services

  • Nathaniel Rice, Disabled Student Programs and Services

Student Senate



Meets on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of each instructional month, 12-1pm. All meetings of the COOL are currently online via Zoom.